The “No Makeup” Makeup Routine

Hello everyone!  This post will be about my go-to “no makeup” makeup routine.  I personally follow this routine 5 out of 7 days a week.  It takes less than thirty minutes and leaves your skin looking perfectly healthy!  If you would like to see this look on myself, leave me a comment!  I was thinking of uploading a VIDEO tutorial if you all wanted to see it being done??  If so, just request it!  Let’s get started…

 

 

Step 1: Prep + Prime (MAC reference hehe)

prep edit

Alright to start off, you can NEVER forget to prep and prime.  After toning, moisturizing, etc. I apply Nivea’s Sensitive Post Shave Balm.  I believe this trend was started by NikkiTutorials on Youtube.  I used a lot of different primers in the past like Benefit’s POREfessional primer and Smashbox’s Photo Ready primer.  They are both great but I saw that there wasn’t a huge difference between wearing vs not wearing primer (for longevity purposes).  I like using this balm because it cools and soothes my skin in the morning.  The moment you put it on your face, you feel a rush of coolness all over!  Now for the lips, I recommend prepping them with Vaseline BEFORE applying foundation and the works.  Why?  If you do it before then your lips won’t be too sticky to apply lip products.  Also, a little side perk is that it helps foundation not get onto the edges of your lips!

Step 2: The Foundation of It All

fixed face edit

You guys have no idea how hard it was to take this picture without the primer falling over every 3 seconds… Anyways, for the face my HOLY GRAIL product is NARS’ Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer.  It is absolutely the perfect shade for me.  I barely need to apply any on my neck and it still looks flawless.  My quest to find this product was actually very long and filled with endless trips to Ulta and Nordstrom’s cosmetic section. Long story short I found that to perfect the “no makeup” look consists of a sheer foundation + medium to full coverage concealer.  If you guys want the whole story, just let me know!  So, I apply one layer of the tinted moisturizer with a beauty blender (those who want a bit more coverage can use a brush instead).  Then, I use the Instant Age Rewind concealer (light medium) for my under eyes.  I bought this concealer because people were raving about it and since I use it just for my under eyes and high points of my face (forehead, chin, and sometimes my nose bridge), I can’t say much about coverage.  However, I can say that it has great staying power and definitely does not crease.  For my blemishes I use the Naked concealer from Urban Decay in Med-Light Neutral.  I got this because of the word “naked” in it, assuming it would be a more natural looking/sheer coverage concealer like the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclate.  Instead, I found that it’s very similar to Too Faced’s Born This Way concealer.  It’s full coverage so be careful not to over-apply.  After I’m done with this concealer I’m thinking of trying out NARS’ Radiant Creamy concealer.  Thoughts?

Step 3: Sparkle + Shine

bronze edit

Alright so this is the tricky part of the “no makeup” look.  It’s easy for people to ruin this look by applying too much blush, bronzer, and/or highlight.  For bronzer I use Bobbi Brown’s Bronzing Powder in Natural.  It’s a perfect color to add “health” onto my skin instead of a “contour.”  Oh!  I forgot to add that I recommend using a big, round brush instead of a contour brush.  This will help you avoid that awkward streak on your cheeks that most people call “contouring” these days. Highlighter wise I think it’s really okay to shine even when going for the “no makeup” look.  Personally, I don’t use a brush when I use Becca’s highligher in Opal.  I use my index or middle finger and ever so lightly slide a small streak of it onto my upper cheeks and nose bridge.  Lastly, for blush I mix two of my all time favorite blushes.  Saemmul’s Smile Bebe Blusher (from Korea) and Estee Lauder’s Pure Color Envy in Blushing Nude.  I like Saemmul’s blush because it gives a shimmer to my cheeks and EL’s because of the warm, calm color.

Step 4: Natural Eyes

eyes edit

“Eyes are the window to the soul.”  I would like to introduce to your guys my all-time favorite palette, Lorac’s PRO Palette!  It was my first palette I ever purchased and I keep repurchasing to this day.  (If you guys want eye look tutorials then just let me know!)  After applying eyeshadow, I apply stila’s All Day Liquid Liner in BROWN.  Yes.  Brown.  I found that brown gives a soft, natural look instead of black.  It goes perfect with this look!  Next I use EL’s mascara to raise my nonexistent lashes.  A trick to achieve long lashes while still looking natural is applying a coat of mascara on your bottom lashes.  It opens up your eyes to make you look wide awake.  Now remember that a sharp, PERFECT brow doesn’t always go with a natural look, unfortunately.  I tend to always resort to a long brow with a small curve at the end.  To get that look I use Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Brow Wiz in Soft Brown.  I’ve tried actually cheated on the brow wiz once with the brow pomade and came crawling back to the wiz shortly after.  And that is it!

Open view:

open edit

In case you guys wanted to see what they looked like inside.

 

Alright, I hope you guys enjoyed that!  Send me request of what my next post should be!  I’m thinking more makeup?  Stuff like a skin care routine, tutorials (video), swatches, etc.??

Till next time,

JamieM

2 thoughts on “The “No Makeup” Makeup Routine

Leave a Reply

